Back to University

I still remember the excitement I felt when my first textbook and reading list arrived the summer before I went up to Oxford to read Maths some 16 years ago.  It made the whole thing seem suddenly more real, and somehow I felt more grown up as I got stuck into the pre-course reading and problem sheets.

I experienced that same excitement when the first course books arrived for my distance learning Theology course at University of Lampeter, and when I gave that up after a couple of modules to follow God’s call to preach there was a similar sense of anticipation at the arrival of the Methodist “Faith and Worship” materials.

And now I get to experience it all over again, for my BA in Theology, Ministry, and Mission at St Barnabas, Sheffield.  The past couple of weeks I have been ordering books, and yesterday the first one arrived.  Christianity Rediscovered: An Epistle from the Masai by Vincent J Donovan, telling his story of taking the gospel to an unreached people group in the 1970s, is one of the pre-course reading books for the “Mission and Evangelism” module, and I can’t wait to begin reading.  At the end of my first undergraduate degree I never thought I’d say this, but I’m looking forward to being a student again!

Leave a Reply

